The only 3 tools you need to accomplish anything

Table of contents

No heading

No headings in the article.

In this article, I'm going to share some of the tools I use to help me achieve sustainable outcomes and eventually get towards any ambitious goal.

TL;DR I share three tools I'll use daily throughout this challenge - Anki, Notion and Pomodoro. At the bottom section, I summarize what I've done this day regarding the post title.

Without any further ado, I'd like to share a link to the Github repository, the place from where I get ideas for creating flashcards - JavaScript Interview Questions & Answers.

Anki decks

You can use Anki as a tool while learning actually anything (in theory) from another language, guitar chords, geography, or... programming :wink: There is a broad use of this tool among law or medical students.

Anki uses various learning techniques to help memorize terms for longer. It's backed by science (spaced repetition, active recall testing). You can learn more about the impact it makes on the learning process for CS students from this article.

So, there is this one tool and one thing it helps me with - effective memorizing. The next one I'd to mention is a tool for planning strategies - Notion. Following this challenge, I'll use it to structure my day-to-day work.

Notion Kanban dashboard

The screenshot above shows the kanban board I've created to track my progress on my current personal project. Kanban helps me a lot (even if I'm doing house chores sometimes I use similar boards to optimize my time). I personally use Notion also to add some notes, make bullet lists, or even collect the reviews of books/podcasts I've completed.

Notion notes

The last tool on my today's list is an app from App Store Be Focused. It's basically a time tracker which uses a broadly known technique - Pomodoro.

Be Focused App

If you're not familiar Pomodoro uses structured time intervals (default is 25 minutes of work followed by 5 minutes of break, then after 4 full intervals there is a long break period of 15/20 minutes and the whole cycle starts all over again. You can ofc customize these interval periods to your needs, try out what suits best for you. The most important part is - it works for me. The impact it can make is successively measured by scientists. Learn more on the official website.

I try to minimize the toolchain to keep me get going with the work I have, so these three tools I've mentioned suit me the most. From time to time I jump to something new for a little while as a refresher but that's my foundation.

That's it from my side. Let me know what tools are you using on a daily basis to optimize productiveness ;)